Prohibitory orders issued in 8 police station limits

Curbs in the wake of escalating political violence and crude bomb explosions

In view of the escalating political violence and crude bomb explosions, District Collector Seeram Sambasiva Rao has issued prohibitory orders banning public rallies, campaigns and meetings in the limits of eight police stations in the rural areas of Kozhikode district. The order came into effect at 10 a.m. on Saturday and would be in force till May 27.

The police said the prohibitory orders issued on Friday would be applicable to those within the limits of Vadakara, Chombala, Edachery, Nadapuram, Valayam, Kuttiyadi, Perambra and Koyilandy. No meetings or gathering of more than 10 persons would be permitted in public places under these police stations, they said.

On Saturday, the police intensified their search for crude bombs with the support of bomb disposal squads. From Valayam, 22 crude bombs were recovered by the squad. The bombs were recovered from a building under construction. This was in addition to the unearthing of a small quantity of secretly stocked gun powder from a deserted area.

An investigation was also intensified into the recent incidents of crude bomb explosions in the limits of various rural police stations. Though the police identified a few suspects involved in the incidents, no one has been arrested till Saturday.

Source: Read Full Article