Bypoll results: Bad news for BJP

Bypoll results from  the 4  states disappointed BJP- Bharatiya Janata Party leaders as the party failed to win at least one seat.  BJP’ losing streak in West Bengal since the Assembly polls last year continued on Saturday as the party failed to win the Asansol Lok Sabha and Ballygunge Assembly bye-elections.

TMC won the Asansol Lok Sabha constituency for the 1st time since the party’s formation in  the year 1998 and retained the Ballygunge Assembly constituency, making a clean sweep in West Bengal bypolls. In Asansol, Shatrughan Sinha defeated BJP MLA-turned party candidate Agnimitra Paul by a margin of 30,3209 votes.  Shatrughan Sinha bagged 6,56,358 votes while Paul got 3,53,149 votes.  In Ballygunge, winning candidate Babul Supriyo secured 20,228 votes more than CPI(M)’s Saira Shah Halim who clinched 2nd  position.

In West Bengal, bypolls were held for Ballygunge Assembly constituency too which was retained by the TMC, thus making a clean sweep in bypolls.

 In Bihar, Rashtriya Janata Dal won Bochahan Assembly seat whereas Congress clinched the Kolhapur North and Khairagarh Assembly seats in Maharashtra and Chhattisgarh respectively.

RJD candidate Amar Kumar Paswan won the seat with a handsome margin of 36,653 votes. BJP- Bharatiya Janata Party ‘Baby Kumari finished as the runner up, whereas Geeta Kumari came 3rd.

Chhattisgarh’s Khairagarh, Bengal’s Ballygunge, Bihar’s Bochahan, and Maharashtra’s Kolhapur North are the four assembly constituencies that went to polls.

Source: Read Full Article